Nail Marbling

Well I had planned to keep going with homemade  beauty tips, however, after spending some of the week playing with Water Marbling of Nails, I had to write it up!  I am going to try to share as many tips as I can that will help make it easier for you. 

Here is my first attempt: 

First Nail Marbling attempt

First Nail Marbling attempt

Well my teal, pink & tiny bit of silver looks like red, green & silver which equals Christmas in August, ugh.  But if it were December, not bad, not bad at all!  I missed cleaning a few spots, but other than that, they turned out ok!  So what did we do?

Ok first you need your supplies:

-Container of water (a disposable plastic cup works great, anything but styrofoam)  make sure it’s room temp, not straight out of the tap, .  I also discovered that for some reason unknown to me, bottled watered seems to work better, so I grabbed one from the fridge and just left it out for a couple of days until I needed it.

-You need your polishes, be prepared to experiment, as you see above, you don’t always get the results you expect!  Keep in mind that you are going to fly through a lot of polish, figure approximately 3-6 drops of polish per nail!  So you don’t want to use your Chanel!  I found that China Glaze works great, it disperses in the water great, some of the cheaper polishes also worked great, ie, PURE ICE where as ELF literally sunk to the bottom of the container and sat.  Bottom line, play with what you have a bit, find brands that work then go with the cheaper ones.                                             

-Toothpicks or orange sticks to swirl and make your pattern in the water and clean the water-a must!

-Scotch Tape!  Yes, I put that correctly, I mean you had to wonder how you could stick your finger in that water filled polish and not turn all colors, you need to tape your nail off.  Now as I can’t explain in words how this is done, I am going to refer you to who I think is the queen of water marbling and her video’s on You tube, start with her taping video, you can link to SimpleLittlePleasures and see exactly how it’s done.  Now as I keep managing to get my knuckles covered in the water/polish mix, I also keep a tube of chap stick handy, and prior to dipping, put that on those areas not taped, and afterwards, simply wipe clean.  While you’re at SimpleLittlePleasures video’s, check out her others for techniques on mixing the polish in water for designs.  She is great!!

-Finally for clean up, you’ll need acetone, cotton, a small brush and/or a polish correct pen.  You will still get a fair amount of color in the cuticle area, so after you put on your topcoat, and this is a must, you need to do a good just of cleaning up!  This isn’t too difficult as this is literally a thin-film of color.

My second attempt: 

Water marbling 2nd try

Water marbeling second try

Wow, now that is more like it!  But you know what?  That is baby blue and baby pink!  I thought that colors would be lighter watered down, not more intense, still, I love it!

So to recap, you need:

  1. A small container is great
  2. Bottled water-room temperature
  3. Several polishes to mix and match
  4. Clean up supples
  5. chap stick (optional)  
  6. Toothpicks or orange sticks                                                                                                                                                          

Have fun!

Nail of the week! 

From the Orly Cosmic FX collection for Fall, Space Cadet

Orly Space Cadet

Isn’t this awesome?  It’s from the new Orly Cosmic FX Collection for fall, it’s called Space Cadet.  It’s a gorgeous purple that is chucked full of pink shimmer.  Depending on how you move it, you get that wonderful chameleon effect and different colors!  This is a gorgeous collect, a bit pricey, I only bought two of them, wish I had bought it’s not rocket science, but at $10/bottle, I won’t be.

Anyway, that’s it for now.  I hope you enjoyed and if you come up with any great tips for marbling, please do drop me a note and I’ll be sure to pass it on for everyone!

*special thanks to Rick for the photos!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nadeen
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 10:52:54

    Hi Maire, I love the blog. Didn’t know you could marble nails. I have long nails but can never do anything with them because of my job. I don’t know if I’d do dark colors, as that is not my thing, but they sure look lovely on you.
    Haven’t tried the lemon in the hair for years. Maybe give me a boost if I try it again.
    Take care of yourself sweetie. Try to stay off your feet/foot. =)
    Always your friend, Nadeen

    Reply

    • mairekaye
      Aug 30, 2010 @ 20:59:36

      Hi Nadeen,
      Thank you! Yes, absolutely you can marble your own nails and it’s fun and easy Perhaps with your job you cob simply keep your fingernails maincured and buffed to a high gloss shine, they’d look lovely and not interfer in the least. Alternately if a bit of polish is allowed, try clear or a soft pale pink.
      The home beauty ideas will work for any age, not just when we were young, give it a try again! I bet you’ll find your hair has more body and shine.
      Thanks so much for stopping!

      Reply

  2. SandraDB
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 12:54:16

    Hi Maire, your blog is very interesting. I’ve learned a lot about nails and nail polish. Your nails are very beautiful, I like them a lot.
    Please honey, take care and rest.
    Huggies and kisses
    Sandra

    Reply

    • mairekaye
      Aug 30, 2010 @ 20:58:45

      Hi Sandra,
      Thank you for stopping! As you know I love nails, and I am constantly working on mine and finding new and fun ways to make them lovely *s*.
      I am resting the big foot and it’s slowly healing.
      Hugs~

      Reply

  3. Staceetan51
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 14:00:01

    Is this WP theme free or premium? nice blog btw! You nicely summed up the issue. I would add that this doesn’t exactly concenplate often. xD Anyway, good post…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

