Beauty from the Kitchen!

Recipes for beauty from your kitchen

Hi guys,  I told you we were shifting gears from nails, and we sure are!  We’re going to make our own beauty concoctions from the kitchen (& bathroom).  These are fun, healthy and time-tested!  So read them and try some, I think you’ll agree, you don’t need to spend much of anything to get that great look!  

When I was a teenager, I had a large stack of recipe card full of beauty ideas from the kitchen, and amazingly, I still have them.  So last week when Sissy suggested that we do facials with milk and hydrogen peroxide, I thought wow, what a great idea for the blog, beauty ideas from the kitchen!  Most will cost you little, as most ingredients will already be at hand!  So let’s see what stuff we have!  

  • The first one we’ll talk about is the first one that Sissy and I just did.  Take whole milk and hydrogen peroxide mix thoroughly, apply to face and neck with cotton ball, and leave on for 15 minutes, next rinse thoroughly.  You should do this daily for a week.  What does this do?  We all know Cleopatra was known for her beautiful white soft skin and took milk baths!  The milk is softening; the lactic acid acts as a slight exfoliator.  The peroxide is a whitener, a bleach; it works on age spots, slight acne spots and so on.  Sissy and I both liked this and gave it *****
  •  Another great facial that is a real great blast from my past is using oatmeal, honey and milk.   Take a few tablespoons of dry oatmeal, you don’t have to put them in a food processor, but it will be a much finer power that if nothing else will look nicer and will be easier to work with.  Add a small amount of equal parts of milk and honey until you have a fairly thick mixture (remember you don’t need a lot, it’s for your face!).  Spread this lovely mixture on your face and sit back and relax for a good 15-20 minutes.  *You may even want to put some cucumbers on your eyes while you’re relaxing* what does it do?   Honey is a natural antioxidant, with antiseptic properties and natural moisturizers wow, eh?!  Oatmeal acts as a non-pore clogging moisturizer.  It is calming to skin that is puffy or red.  And we all know from above milk with its lactic acid is a slight exfoliate and it whitener.  We messed up and got this a bit runny, but it still worked fine, we simply applied it with a cotton ball.  Again, we thought the results were *****.
  •  Easy and quick:  Want extra shine on you crowning glory?  Rinse it with beer!  That’s right!  Simply take a bottle or can and after shampooing and conditioning, pour it through and then rinse completely with cool water (you don’t want to smell drunk!).  What does it do?  Shampoo and conditioner will leave a build up on hair, particularly the conditioner, it has to in order to  work, that has a dulling effect.  Beer is an acid, and it will cut that dulling layer with repeat use, you should get some great shine!   I’d give this *** yes I do it-or use to!

Beauty & the beer

 ~*~

Lemon beauty!

-Another fast one?  If you are a blonde, finish your shampooing/conditioning by rinsing hair with a pitcher of water with a couple teaspoons of lemon juice mixed in.  If you’re a brunette, try adding a teaspoon or so of vinegar to about a quart of cool water and pour through as your final rinse – you can leave this in-both will give you great shine!

-I was born a strawberry blond, so of course I wanted to be a “California blonde” however the spray on products that supposedly worked with the sun turned my hair an awful shade of orange.  Finally my mom got sick of seeing me waste my money and seeing my frustration and yet knowing dumb kid that I was I was going to keep trying, so she said, use lemon juice!   So we squeezed about 4 lemons, strained them and combined the juice in a spray bottle until full with water.   I would spray my hair before going out to tan.  Ok, now a couple things….disclaimers.  First, we all know now that large amounts of sun are NOT good for us, and if you are going to be in the sun, use a good sun screen.  If you are going to use the lemon juice, it’s extremely drying, so I wouldn’t use it if you’re prone to dry hair; even if you have oily hair, when you’re finished sunbathing, wash the juice out and condition!   How does it work?  Again, acid, the acid in the lemon acts to make dark blonde hair lighter; it won’t do a lot for brunettes, it may add some highlights.  I am only going to give this *** due to sun damage and so on.

-Last I have my nail polish of the week.  It’s kind of hard for me to do with this cast on my foot, and my foot elevated,  while balancing the topcoat, polish, basecoat and all on a lap desk, but I am doing my best, so bear with me please.  

Click on pix to enlarge! 

China Glaze Jitterbug

Isn’t this gorgeous?  It’s a deep silvery gray with a lot of blue undertones.  You can’t see it well in the pic, but the glitter is blinding!  It’s from their new 2010 fall collection!!  

~*~   

Another view of China Glaze Jitterbug

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary O.
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 08:21:37

    Enjoyed your beauty from the kitchen tips. In the past, I’ve used a vinegar rinse to get rid of shampoo and conditioner build-up. I took an old spray bottle – I think someone gave me one from hair coloring – and kept it right on the tub. After rinsing my hair, I’d spray some of that on, work it through with my fingers, and rinse again.

    I also find that different shampoos clean differently and I use two or three different ones, alternating to avoid the build-ups. The only real shampoo for oily hair that I found is from Bed and Bath Works and it smells like peppermint. It does work, but not as well as the old, and badly missed, Aussie Citrifier.

    Keep up the good work!!!

    Reply

    • mairekaye
      Aug 30, 2010 @ 20:57:03

      Hi Mary,
      Thank you for those fantastic ideas! Absolutely vinegar and water as a rinse after shampooing and prior to your final rinse is fantastic for keeping that shine in and build up out.
      As for the shampoo idea, it’s one I use myself when I am using “real’ shampoo! I can’t use the same shampoo repeatedly or it will turn to oil. Alternating will absolutely solve the prob of having them turn on you, so to speak! Thanks for those great pointers!
      Sorry Bath & Body doesn’t carry your fav any longer, have you asked them for an equivalant replacement?
      Thanks for stopping and again, love the ideas!

      Reply

  2. Mary O.
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 20:07:00

    Hi, Maire,
    Sorry for the confusion. The Aussie brand, which I have loved forever and which is NOT tested on animals, can be bought in grocery and drug stores, even WalMart. Why they discontinued a great product like Citrifier I’ll never know. But I can’t get it anywhere near here and I don’t think it’s available on line.
    The peppermint shampoo is pretty good for clearing build-up, and that’s the one that comes from Bath and Body Works. Now if you don’t mind smelling like a candy cane – and It’s Strong – then go for it.
    Mary O.

    Reply

    • mairekaye
      Aug 30, 2010 @ 20:52:11

      Hi Mary,
      Got it. And another WONDERFUL point! Ladies (and gents) please check labels to make certain they are not tested on animals, it’s clearly stated on products that don’t practice that cruel testing. More and more companies are labeling that they don’t test on animals, and that is not only necessary, it’s awesome. You’re right about the Aussie brand, I’ve seen it around too.
      As for the Citrifier product, I have not utilized it, so I can’t judge it, so readers, it’s up to you, if you’ve tried it, let us know; if you know of a good replacement, let us know that too. Ditto on the Bath and Body Works product, I don’t think I could take smelling like a big candy cane!
      Thanks again!
      Maire

      Reply

Leave a Reply

