Nails nails and more nails pt 2 topcoats

I’m back!  Through heat and cast and pain, I keep working on this for you all 🙂  But seriously folks, what is a mani without topcoat?  The answer…a short lasting one.  And just like with basecoats, there are good and bad ones.  As always, these are just my experiences with the products I speak of, but I’ll do my best to tell you how they went for me.  

Assorted Topcoats

Assorted Topcoats

From upper left to lower right we have Seche Vite, Poshe topcoat, and Sally Hansen quick dry topcoat.  

I’ve used a lot more, but decided to go with the ones I use and like to love.  So let’s go.  

The Sally Hansen is fast drying, and was the first I found, without it, I may have given up mani’s.  So I am grateful to it!  However, it doesn’t have the sleek finish I’ve come to expect when I run my fingers over nails; and it certainly doesn’t have the super high gloss finish that I demand.  Still I’ll give it *** simply for being there and saving my sanity!  

In the Center is Poshe, it “reads” like a dream (the following is from the Poshe site):                                                                

New Generation Topcoat!
Dries Manicure Completely in 5 to 6 Minutes!
  

  • Dries To The Touch in 1 Minute
  • Dries To The Nail in 5 Minutes
  • Highest Gloss Of Any Product On The Market
  • No Formaldehyde
  • No Toluene
  • No Nitrocellulose
  • Cannot turn yellow, even in tanning beds.
  • 2 UV Inhibitors
  • 2 U.S. Patents
  • Chip Resistant
  • Protects Nails
  • Self-Leveling
  • Non-Dragging
  • Ideal For Nail Art
  • No UV Lights or Heated Dryers Needed
  • A True Topcoat – Must be applied over polish or basecoat
  • 5 Time Winner – Allure Magazine’s
    BEST TOPCOAT AWARD

WOW!  I have this product and I use anything else?  I am not in heaven?  Well no.  It dries relatively quickly,  but completely in 5-6 minutes?  No way!  I haven’t found anything that does that unless that’s all that is on the nail!  If you have on your basecoat, two coats of polish and topcoat, it’s going to take a good hour to completely dry, and even then, I’d be careful, that’s why doing nails before bed is such a good idea, they have all night to dry!  It does dry to the touch in about a minute.  

However, one coat does not give me that sleek finish I want to feel when I run my fingers over it, nor does it give me that wonderful glossy shine.  So we’ll give it ****  

Now we come to Seche Vite (French for fast drying).  So far, this is still my favorite, hands down.  This stuff makes my nails so sleek, gee they are fun to feel!  And the shine is second to none!  Yes, I love Seche.  It doesn’t dry instantly, well let’s see what they claim…(from the Seche site):       

‘Seche Vite™ Dry Fast Top Coat is widely acknowledged as the world’s finest top coat. Its patented formula penetrates through the nail lacquer to the base coat forming a single solid coating over the nail plate for a much more durable finish, guaranteed not to yellow and leaves nails silky, stronger and resistant to chipping and peeling.’ 

Wow, not a lot of claims, but the stuff is great.  Funny story!  I had put on some nail art stickers, and put Seche Vite over them (not thinking about the part about it penetrates through the nail polish to the basecoat and forms a solid coating over the nail plate, well yes it did!  It went even further than that, the stickers ended up embedded in my fingernails, I mean they became a part of me.  While they were nice stickers, I didn’t want they as tat’s on my nails!  And wow it took so much work to get them off.  So now if I use decals or stickers, I use a cheap thin topcoat to secure them. 

 

Ok, here are a few polishes with Seche Vite as the topcoat.  

Orly Rage

Orly Rage

        Isn’t this a WOW polish?!  It’s a foil look, that’s a rose gold color.  I used Seche Vite on top.  And the sticker is on a nail I messed up :o)  

~*~  

Zoya Pru

Pru Nail Polish with Seche Vite and another sticker over an oops!
Can you see that gold in that color?  Gorgeous!  I love deep jewel tones.  

~*~  

Ok, that’s it for today!  Next we’ll do my absolute fav product when it comes to mani’s and ped’s, quick drying products, I think Pulitzer prize would be in order!  Hehe.  Ok, ready, set, polish those nails! 

Leave a Reply

